I did it my way…

I spend my computer time hunting recipes that inspire me to make them. Something has to grab my interest and suit my mood in that moment. I saw just the thing, a pull apart cinnamon muffin…oh, it looked yummy. Then the let down, the first ingredient was “Prepackaged frozen biscuit dough”, serious pet peeve. When I want to cook I want to cook, not combine someone else’s  pre-made food.

Our goal of no food in boxes, bags or cans is an imperfect one but we try really hard. If we must get a processed food we go for the one made with the least amount of ingredients, organic and made closest to home.

My normal response is to look for another recipe but today, I’ve had it. I’m going to the kitchen and I’m going to make this thing.

And so it begins
And so it begins

I take an old reliable biscuit recipe, one from my mom, and adjust to suite my needs:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil (original was shortening)

Combine with pastry blender then add:

  • 2/3 cup milk(old is fine)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp honey(original was sugar in with the dry ingredients)

I put all the wet in a one cup measure, then whisk the egg and honey a bit before adding to the dry.

Mix just until mostly combined, dump out on a floured surface and knead 20 times only. Over working the dough gives you tough, flat results.

Form a long roll and slice into 30(5 slices cut in half per muffin, or less, as you wish). Flatten each slice in a bowl of cinnamon sugar(1/2 cup white sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon, adjust cinnamon to taste). Just use your fingers and press down, odd shapes work great.

Layer each sugared slice with a few diced apple pieces and another slice…until it is 5 high. Cut each stack in half down the middle. Curl each half in on itself to fit in the greased muffin tin. Sprinkle a little more cinnamon sugar over the top, really why not.

Cook for 13 minutes in a 450 oven and ta-DA!

I let them cool 5 minutes in the pan before putting them on a cooling rack.

Apple Cinnamon muffins, my way.
Apple Cinnamon muffins, my way.
Tasted so good we each had two...
Tasted so good we each had two…
2 thoughts on “I did it my way…

Leave a Reply

