Trinidad Stewed Chicken

Trinidad stewed chicken in the making. I haven't made this in years and I miss it. Comfort food.
Trinidad stewed chicken in the making. I haven’t made this in years and I miss it. Comfort food.
Yum
Yum

I have been cooking this for about…well let’s not dwell on the years…but had forgotten about it until today. So here it is with the disclaimer that I tend to increase any and all seasonings from any recipe I find/follow/make:

  • 4 lb chicken chunks, whatever you’ve got
  • 3 TBSP chopped onion(or more, go for it)
  • 3 TBSP chopped cilantro/parsley
  • 1 tsp chopped garlic(I like a little more)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups liquid(water, stock or coconut milk) ramp up the seasoning to compensate if you use water( a bit of vinegar or lemon may help).
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes or hot sauce
  • 2 TBSP Ketchup
  • 2 TBSP soy sauce(or substitute)

Marinade the chicken in the mix for a couple of hours or over night.

  • 1 TBSP oil
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar

Heat the oil in a deep pot, sprinkle the brown sugar in. Cook until the sugar has dissolved and is turning a dark bubbling brown, just before it turns black(trial and error here) add the chicken chunks, stir and cover for 2 minutes. Add the marinade and cook for and additional 10 minutes.

Serve over rice.

Taste this as you go, if it is bland, add salt, brown sugar and little extra ketchup, hot sauce…it’s done when you like how it tastes.

I have not made this with coconut milk until today and I didn’t find it made a difference. I usually marinade the chicken in the soy/onion/ketchup mix(lots of it) and add water as I cook if I need it.  You can add minute rice to the mix after the chicken is cooked(add water, bring to a boil and throw the rice in) or cook the rice separately as I did(off the minute rice).

Lots of variables, sorry that’s how I live.

I troll this site for most recipe discoveries, I love them:

http://allrecipes.com/

Leave a Reply

